2017 Kamp-Rite EZ Fold Cot Review – Incredibly Easy Setup

Share

The Kamp-Rite EZ Fold Cot is such that you have to see it to believe it. Its setup is as simple as opening an umbrella. It is incredible, see the video below:

What is in the name

The EZ Fold cot is, in fact, a completely collapsible cot. So I am not sure why they use the word fold here because it would imply two big dimensions when it is packed. But, without going into semantic, just to stress that in the packed state it is only 39 x 9 x 8 inches (99 x 23 x 20 cm).

Kamp-Rite EZ Fold Cot.
Kamp-Rite EZ Fold Cot.

So you realize, it packs to only one relatively big dimension. This makes it very handy to store in the closet at home, or to transport in the car.

From the video above, you have seen that it sets up in one single move. Equally easy is to collapse it. Now, if you feel you did not see this in detail, see again in this video:

The bed is with 6 points on the ground, which makes it very stable. Numerous support bars are there for stability and to make it easily collapsible, like wires in an umbrella.

The bed size is quite good, 79 x 29 inches (201 x 74 cm), and you are 19 inches (48 cm) above the ground. As you have seen in the video, it comes with a nice and very durable carry bag, convenient for transport and for storage at home.


Who is it for

I see this EZ Fold Cot as a nice tool at any camping place with a car access. In particular:

  • At regular camping places.
  • In trailheads hotels.
  • For music festivals and other events in open spaces.
  • Summer camps.
  • At beaches.
  • Emergency situations at home or anywhere.
  • For sudden overnight guests.

Pros & Cons

My summary looks as follows:

Good Less good
• Very easy setup.
• 
Very comfortable.
• Very reliable.
• Top quality materials.
• Versatile.
• Very reasonable price.
•  A bit narrow.

If you are a back sleeper, the Kamp-Rite EZ Fold Cot will work perfectly for you, but I am not, and I find it a bit narrow.

I do not remember any other cot (except perhaps the Byer of Maine Easy Cot) with such an elegant way of setting it up and taking it down, simply ingenious. At the moment of writing this text, the Amazon price of this cot is only $78, a real bargain. See the breakdown of my rating:

Rating breakdown of the Kamp-Rite EZ Fold Cot
  • 6.2/10
    Weight - 6.2/10
  • 8.7/10
    Size - 8.7/10
  • 7/10
    Capacity - 7.0/10
  • 8.2/10
    Packed size - 8.2/10
  • 9.5/10
    Ease of use & features - 9.5/10
  • 9.5/10
    Price - 9.5/10
8.2/10
Sending
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)

Add your own rating here if you are familiar with this cot.


Specifications

  • Weight: 25 lb (11.3 kg).
  • Dimensions (L x W x H): 79 x 29 x 19 in (201 x 74 x 48 cm).
  • Bed size (L x W): 79 x 29 in (201 x 74 cm).
  • Folded size: 39 x 9 x 8 in (99 x 23 x 20 cm).
  • Capacity: 250 lb (113 kg).
  • Included: Heavy Duty 600D Carry Bag.

Comparison with competitors

See how the Kamp-Rite EZ Fold cot compares with several other cots from some well-known brands. All of them are collapsible and portable:

Bed size, inches (cm)
Packed size, inches (cm)
Weight
lb (kg)
Kamp-Rite
EZ Fold Cot
79 x 29
(201 x 74)
39 x 9
(99 x 23)
25 (11.3)
Helinox High Cot 75 x 27
(190 x 68)
21.3 x 5.5
(54 x 14)
6.5 (2.95)
Teton Sports Outfitter XXL 84 x 33
(213 x 84)
42 x 9
(107 x 23)
26 (11.8)
Coleman Trailhead Cot 75 x 35
(190 x 89)
36 x 7
(91 x 18)
17.7 (8)

To see more about the other models, please follow the links; all are described in the site.

The prices for the cots in the table at the moment of writing this text are, respectively, $78, 400, 97, and 46. So the differences are really drastic. The Kamp-Rite EZ Fold Cot is not particularly lightweight but its weight is reasonable for this type. You are not supposed to carry it long distances.

Note that the EZ Fold Cot is without transverse bars at the head and at the feet, so this is far more comfortable than what you have in some other models in the table. Also, its setup is simply beyond comparison, no other model can come close to it.


Summary

In the conclusion of this Kamp-Rite EZ Fold Cot review to stress again that this is a very reliable tool from the well-known brand. All Kamp-Rite’s tent-cots are described in the site, you can see them here. When it comes to tent-cots, this brand is by far the number one in this industry. This particular EZ Fold Cot is an ingenious and versatile concept which works well for various purposes. I can fully recommend it.

Buy from Amazon.

You might want to compare this cot with yet another model from Coleman, the popular Pack-Away Cot or with the Forfar Camping Cot.

Note, if you need a cot for particularly heavy people, I have a list of 13 great tools described in my separate text. On the other hand, if you are a side sleeper or stomach sleeper, you might want to have a very wide cot, so check in this text.

Thank you for reading. I hope the text has been useful to you, so please share it with others. If you have a question or comment, use the comment box below. I wish you a nice day.


Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *