Winterial Oversize Outdoor Tent Cot Review


In this Winterial Oversize Outdoor Tent Cot review you can read about a very comfortable off-the-ground sleeping tool for one to two people. It is very suitable for campers, hunters, fishermen, for emergency situations, and for various other outdoor activities.

Winterial Double Outdoor Tent Cot
Winterial Double Outdoor Tent Cot


Description

Winterial Oversize is easy to set up and you will see this in the video below. This tent cot comes with a frame that provides the main support for the tent and for the cot. It has 4 bar-legs so the construction is very stable. You attach the tent to the frame by velcro tabs. In addition, you have aluminum poles that support the tent dome.

Both the cot and the tent offer a really large space inside, see the numbers below. You have very useful gear lofts inside, one on each shorter side of the tent.

Winterial cot folded.
Winterial cot folded.
Doors and windows

There are 4 of them in total, one on each side. All of them can be used both as windows and as doors. All are equipped with mesh against mosquitoes. So clearly ventilation cannot be an issue inside of the tent.

Rain fly

It is included in the package of course, and it has vents on two sides. It is designed to form an awning in front of the tent. The poles supporting the awning are included in the package.

This is something particularly cool, you can see it in the picture below. So you can sit in the shade in front of your camping home, or keep it that way in case of rain to have more ventilation inside.


The procedure of setting up this tent cot is nicely shown in this video, so please have a look:


Price, rating, pros & cons

The daily updated Amazon-US price is given below. As you see this is an expensive item, but this is a double-size cot plus the tent. So the price is justified for what you have here.
Please see how I rate this sleeping system:

Rating breakdown of the Winterial Oversize Outdoor Tent Cot:
  • Weight - 6.6/10
    6.6/10
  • Bed size - 8.3/10
    8.3/10
  • Capacity - 7/10
    7/10
  • Packed size - 3.5/10
    3.5/10
  • Ease of use & features - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
7.1/10

Overall rating

Based on the specific rating criteria, the overall rating is:

Pros

  • Very easy to use.
  • Stable & sturdy.
  • Awning.

Cons

  • Large when packed.
Sending
User Review
8.44/10 (79 votes)

Specifications

  • Weight: 44 lb (20 kg).
  • Cot size (L x W): 85 x 46 in (216 x 117 cm).
  • Tent size (L x W x H): 85 x 46 x 41 in (216 x 117 x 104 cm).
  • Folded size: 48.5 x 33.5 x 8 in (123.2 x 85.1 x 20.3 cm).
  • Shipping weight: 43.4 lb (19.7 kg).
  • 190 TPU fabric for extra durability.
  • Recommended weight: up to 500 lbs (227 kg).
  • No-see-um mesh doors and windows.
  • Lightweight aluminum frame.
  • Overhead zippered windows at each end of the tent top.
  • Elevated sleeping platform.

Comparison with other double models

See how Winterial compares with its closest competitors, the models from Kamp Rite:


Weight,
lb (kg)

Bed size,
in (cm)

Capacity,
lb (kg)

Packed size,
in (cm)

Winterial Oversize

44 (20)

85 x 55 
(216 x 140
)

500 (227)

48 x 34 x 8 
(123 x 85 x 20)

Kamp Rite Compact Double

42 (19.5)

85 x 55 
(216 x 140
)

500 (227)

45 x 12 x 12
(104 x 31 x 31)

Kamp Rite Double

51 (23)

84 x 53 
(213 x 135
)

500 (227)

56 x 34 x 8 
(142 x 86 x 20)

 

The true competitor is Kamp Rite Double because its construction is very similar to Winterial. So clearly Winterial offers less space.

Both KT Double and Winterial have vertical sidewalls. This gives a lot of extra volume inside, as compared to standard tents or to KR Compact model which is without this upper frame.


Conclusion

To conclude this Winterial Oversize Outdoor Tent Cot review, I believe it is obvious that this is a great tool. Like with every tent cot, you have a lot of comfort by sleeping off the ground, this reduces dampness and you do not lose warmth to the cold ground. Setting this tool up is far easier than any normal tent.

This is a very useful camping tool which offers a lot of space for one person and can also be used by two people. But this all comes at a price, so if this is an issue you might want to see some other models presented in the site. You have links given in the table above.

Note also that standard quality ground tents are in fact very expensive. But with this tent cot you have a huge cot included in the price. If you need something smaller in the packed state, please check this Ozark Trail Two-Person cot-tent.

Check on Amazon

Check at Walmart

Thank you for reading. I hope this text has been useful and this is so please share it with others.

Note that this is not a sponsored text, and I am not paid by the brand. Have a nice day and pleasant camping wherever you are.


Share

24 thoughts on “Winterial Oversize Outdoor Tent Cot Review”

  1. I had decided, through trial and error, to get a cot/tent to place on my 5×8 ATV open trailer. Sleeping in the back of a Jeep Wrangler just didn’t work out…..not enough length. I have looked at several cot/tents and this was one of my top choices, prior to reading your review. This supports my decision and it will now be the one I go with. I think it will be great.
    Thank you for the review and I look forward to many comfortable, dry nights of sleep.

    1. Thank you MLS, great to hear from you. Just let me know if I can help, practically all the cots and tent-cots globally available are presented here in the site, so I have a good overview of their features.

        1. Hi Scott, this brand has no site of its own, so the only way seems to be to contact them through Amazon if possible. Or check with the seller through which you ordered it.

          1. So, if something has to be replaced you’re just out of luck and would have to purchase another complete tent cot from them? If I would have known that before hand I would have went with a different tent cot that offers replacement parks such as Kamp Rite. Thank you for your reply.

          2. I would try to contact the seller. Winterial products have been around for some time, this tent-cot is very popular. But you are right in general, it is good to deal with brands that offer reliable support for their products.

    2. Hello,
      Did you purchase the Winterial Oversize Outdoor Tent Cot? I am looking at a cot tent, I’m tall and thought a XL, oversized or two person tent cot would work for me. I ordered and rec’d an Kamp-Rite CTC Double 2-Person Compact Collapsible and was very disappointed. It was a little short but a metal bar ran right up in the middle of it so I couldn’t even use diagonally. The second thing the “cot” part wasn’t very taught, I would prefer it firm. Any insight would be great, thank you.

  2. Hi Jovo,

    Thanks for your reviews. After thruhiking the AT, I have slept outside on my deck, using a variety of options. Let’s say I’ve gone through 3 screen gazebos so far (snow, wind). I want to give a double tent cot a try… which one would you recommend for almost nightly use? PS… I live in southern New England.

    1. Hi Phil, it is great to hear from you. It is a bit difficult to say without knowing more details.

      First, I wonder why double? If this is just for more space then this Winterial is a great option. Then, how would you transport it? There are big differences in the packed size. In general, one group is folding and those remain large in two dimensions. The other group are folding or collapsible but they pack like a tube remaining long in one dimension only, this type will take less space in the car.

      Then there is also the bed length, some of them are really short. There is also the waterproofness and ventilation issue, some are not for warm weather if you have to keep them closed due to rain. Please give me more details and I shall be happy to suggest something. Have you seen this new Tangkula 2-Person Outdoor Camping Tent Cot? It is incredibly versatile.

      I assume you know that there are backpack-portable tent cots (for single use).

  3. FYI, amazon.com says the bed is only 46″ wide, not 55.

    Dimensions tent cot size 85 x 46 x 41 Ideal for 2 people! Folded dimensions 48.5″ x 33.5″ x 8″

    1. Thank you Jeremy. This cot has been on the market for many years and the numbers I used were for the version which was there when the text was added. But I shall see the situation now and do the changes as soon as possible. Thank you for warning me, appreciated.

    1. Hi Mike, no there is no central bar here so this is all one big space. I understand your concern, typically double wide cots have such a bar but this is not the case here. You can see the video given in the text and you will realize that there is no bar anywhere close to the bed deck.

  4. I really like the looks of your product. I have worked in Parks & Recreation and now work in Emergency Management and can certainly imagine being able to use this in disaster situations in addition to my desire to be able to return to camping. Unfortunately I am older, and a bit broken down so camping on the ground is out for me. I’ve been looking for alternatives and of the two primary choices, this would be my first.

    My concern is the price and availability. Let’s just say we aren’t paid well and this would be a considerable investment for me for a “want” rather than a need. I don’t go out often because I don’t have something that works for me, outside of my car and that isn’t a great option for me, so I basically go fishing for a day and come home.

    The other problem is availability. I can’t seem to find these anywhere right now. Is there a problem or have they just been sold out for the summer? If the latter, when do you expect to have them available again, and of course, at what price point?

    1. Hi Deb, thank you for visiting my site. Yes, this Winterial tent cot is a nice item, I see it is currently not available but this happens from time to time, so I am sure it will be available again. Normally the price does not change in such situations. The status of this item is updated daily so come again a few days later and check.

      So I understand you need a double size tent cot, there are several other options available in the site, you can see them here. In particular this Kamp Rite double tent cot is almost the same. But it makes sense waiting for the Winterial if you prefere it. I hope you will find what suits you best.

  5. serait-il possible de le mettre sur un racks Front Runner sur le toit d’une voiture …
    merci d’avance

    1. Hi, I do not speak French, but I understand you ask if it would be possible to put it on the Front Runner racks on the car roof. I do not see any reason why not, but I have not used it that way.

      Bonjour, je ne parle pas le français, mais je comprends que vous demandez s’il est possible de le placer sur les racks Front Runner sur le toit de la voiture. Je ne vois pas pourquoi, mais je ne l’ai pas utilisé de cette façon.

  6. This a very well prepared and easy to follow material about tent cots. It would appear to be upscale camping material, I wish I had it some time ago on my camping trip in the UK. It poured with rain and I booked into a motel for the entire trip. I live in the tropics and we use tents to set up temporary displays or meetings so my experience is limited. Best of luck. I really like your luxury tent.

    1. Hi Courtney, I like the fact that you visited my site, great to hear such kind words from you. I agree, this is indeed one of the best of these tools. Best wishes.

  7. DUDE this product is AWESOME! Why have I never see something like this before? I am always looking for an easier way to get a good night sleep outdoors. I am a tall guy so the length may be a problem for me. Still worth taking a look though. Great article full of specs, very helpful.
    Thanks again!

    1. Hey Marc, this is 216 cm, are you sure this is not enough for you? But no worry about the size, there are many more of these tools described in this site. You may see this Kamp Rite Oversize model, 230 cm length should be enough for you. Thank you for visiting my site.

  8. Hi Jovo,
    This looks like an interesting product. I had not been aware of tent cots before but can see how useful they would be when there are just a couple of you wanting to set up quickly and have some sort of comfort and clearance from the ground. Don’t know how many times i have woken up while camping with a stream running through the tent after an overnight down pour…

    1. Hi Tony, you are right, this Winterial is one of my favorite, I like the awning it has. As for the water in the tent, not much to add, you obviously know a lot about it. Yes I have experienced this myself. This is what makes these tent-cots so special and valuable. All the best to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *